• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 memoman

memoman

Advanced Member

• 111 posts
  • Covers:32

Posted 02 May 2007 - 01:55 PM

Hi i was wondering about playing movies encoded in mp4 on my psp i have a 4gig sony memory stick that i'd like to add a few movies too. i know that for the psp to recondise my music mp3 files i have to create folders psp/music/title of album.But no matter how i locate mp4 fies on my memory stick on my psps the machine fails to locate them. it is a new psp firmware 2.81.the manual says the psp will play the mp4 files straight off the memory card.The movie files play on my pc.i have not encoded them myself i am merley using them to test i have also tried a mp4 clip that plays on my mobile phone.i have read the manual. the parental setting is set at 9 i have not changed it yet 1 being high 11 being low)
any help would be appreciated .i am not a novice but i haven't really had much to do with mp4 formats.
thanks

ps if i locate the file on psp/music the machine reconises the file but not play as its not a music file but psp/video file folder does not work??
user posted image

#2 Remy_04

Remy_04

Rookie

• 16 posts
  • Covers:4

• Rank (last 60 days):
    16th in PSP

Posted 13 October 2007 - 02:53 AM

To watch videos on your PSP you need to make a folder named "MP_ROOT" on your memory stick. Within that folder you make one called "100MNV01" and that's where you place your .mp4 videos.
Make sure all folder names are in CAPS. Also, the PSP will not recognize videos if they are not named properly. They should be named something like this "M4V54694.mp4." So, make sure the file name starts with "M4V" and five digits after that.

As for the .THM file, that's just the video thumbnail. You can view it by changing the file extension to .jpg or whatever and vice versa if you want to make your own, after all this is freecovers.com.